2023 Presidential Recognition Award:Ana María Torres, COMT 

Mrs. Ana María Torres is a distinguished leader in ophthalmology, recognized for exceptional contributions that have transformed eye care in Latin America and beyond. As the cofounder and executive director of the Asociación Pan Americana de Bancos de Ojos (APABO; Pan-American Association of Eye Banks) she helped establish over 40 eye banks in Latin America and collaborated in corneal donation legislation in several countries on the continent. Her impact on ophthalmology also includes training ophthalmologists in eye banking, developing the Technical and Scientific Course of Eye Banks, and empowering professionals to meet the growing demand for quality corneal tissue and transplantation services.