2019 Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Ronald R. Krueger

Dr. Ronald R. Krueger is the McGaw Professor and Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Science at the University of Nebraska Medical Center, and Director of the Stanley M. Truhlsen Eye Institute in Omaha, Nebraska, since February, 2019.  As the former Medical Director of Refractive Surgery at the Cleveland Clinic Cole Eye Institute in Ohio, Dr. Krueger is a renowned ophthalmologic surgeon with more than 30 years of experience in the field of refractive surgery, specifically in excimer and femtosecond laser research and wave front optics.

In 1982, Dr. Krueger graduated Summa Cum Laude from Rutgers University with a BSEE in Electrical Engineering, followed by an MSE in Bioengineering from the University of Washington in the following year.  After receiving his medical training at the UMDNJ -New Jersey Medical School in 1987, he completed a Residency in Ophthalmology at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center in New York City in 1991, followed by both a Cornea Fellowship at the Dean McGee Eye Institute at the University of Oklahoma and a Refractive Surgery Fellowship at the Doheny Eye Institute of the University of Southern California in 1993. 

Professionally, Dr. Krueger has performed over 25,000 refractive surgery procedures and has published more than 170 peer-reviewed manuscripts, as well as numerous abstracts, book chapters and trade journal articles.  He is credited with documenting the first physical description of the effects of the excimer lasers on corneal tissue in 1985, and coauthoring the first book on “Wavefront Customized Corneal Ablation” in 2001.  He also pioneered the development of femtosecond laser treatment of the crystalline lens and cataracts, leading to the co-founding of LensAR, Inc in 2004, and publication of the first textbook on the subject in 2013, “Refractive Laser Assisted Cataract Surgery (ReLACS)”.

Dr. Krueger now teaches as a Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Nebraska Medical Center, where he also serves as the Chairman and Eye Institute Director. He recently served as the President of the International Society of Refractive Surgery in partnership with the American Academy of Ophthalmology (ISRS/AAO) for years of 2014 & 2015.  In addition, Dr. Krueger serves as the Associate Editor of the Journal of Refractive Surgery for the past 25 years, and has lectured on refractive surgery in more than 45 countries.

Dr. Krueger has received numerous awards, including the National Leadership Award, Castle Connolly America’s Top Doctors award in 2005 and 2010, the 2007 Kritzinger Memorial Award of the ISRS/AAO, the 2008 Lans Distinguished Award of the ISRS/AAO, the 2014 Secretariat Award of the AAO, the 2015 Founders Award of the ISRS/AAO and in 2016, the Life Achievement Award of the AAO.  In 2013, his thesis, “Ultrashort-Pulse Lasers Treating the Crystalline Lens: Will They Cause Vision Threatening Cataract?” was accepted for membership in the American Ophthalmological Society (AOS), the oldest and most prestigious in U.S. Ophthalmology.  In 2018, he received the Jose I. Barraquer Award and Lecture at the AAO meeting, which is the most prestigious honor in Refractive Surgery worldwide.