2019 Kritzinger Memorial Award: Dr. Marcony Santhiago

Marcony R. Santhiago MD Ph.D. graduated in medicine and completed his residency in Rio, followed by a fellowship at the University of Sao Paulo in Refractive Surgery, where he also obtained his PhD. Subsequently; he completed a Fellowship in Refractive Surgery at the Cleveland Clinic from 2009 to 2012. Currently, Dr. Santhiago holds a faculty position as professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Sao Paulo where he also mentors PhD students and at the University of Southern California.

He is associate editor of Journal of Refractive Surgery and section editor of Journal of Cataract and Refractive Surgery. He is also a reviewer of the most prestigious journals in ophthalmology.

Dr. Santhiago is highly committed to teaching refractive surgery. He has published more than 130 international studies and has a particular research interest in risk factors for post-LASIK ectasia, corneal changes, and remodeling after crosslinking and corneal wound healing. In 2016, he founded an international annual theoretical-practical course on refractive surgery entitled REFRATIVA R.I.O. that has translated into English and Spanish, and that has taught more than 2000 surgeons from all over the world. In 2017 he published his first book about Refractive Surgery with 80 chapters. 

He has won some of the most prestigious awards in Ophthalmology such as the Troutman Award, the Waring Award and the Recognition Award by the International Society of Refractive Surgery, Latin America Research Award in Cornea by the Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology, the Achievement Award by AAO and Best Scientific Video Award  also by the American Academy of Ophthalmology, Best Paper of Section Award and Poster Winner Award by the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery, Gold Medal for contribution in refractive surgery by the Indian refractive society and Scientific Video Award by the European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery. 

He is a member of the International Council and of the Cataract and Refractive Surgery Committee of the International Society of Refractive Surgery (ISRS) and is in the board of directors of the Brazilian Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (BRASCRS). He has been nominated the program director of Refractive Surgery subspecialty day of the 2018-19 AAO meeting.