2016 Waring Memorial Award for a Young Ophthalmologist: Dr. Karolinne M. Rocha

Karolinne Maia Rocha, MD, PhD is a subspecialist in Cataract, Cornea & Refractive Surgery. Dr. Rocha joined the faculty of Medical University of South Carolina, Storm Eye Institute in Charleston, South Carolina in 2014 in the Cornea, Cataract & Refractive Surgery division and she is currently the Director of the Cornea service.

Dr. Rocha received her medical degree from the State University of Londrina (UEL), Brazil in 2002 followed by residency training in ophthalmology at Federal University of São Paulo (UNIFESP). After completion of fellowship in anterior segment surgery in 2007, she completed her PhD also at UNIFESP. Dr. Rocha completed her second ophthalmology residency at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation in Cleveland, Ohio, and two postdoctoral fellowships in Cornea & Refractive Surgery at the Cleveland Clinic in 2009 and Emory University in 2010. 

Dr. Rocha has received awards and distinctions for excellence in Ophthalmology including the American Academy of Ophthalmology’s Achievement Award in 2012, the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery Foundation Resident Excellence Award in 2012, the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine Teaching Excellence Recognition Award in 2013, and the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine Best Research Paper Recognition Award.

Dr. Rocha is active in clinical research, having published over 140 scientific works including peer reviewed publications, book chapters, review articles and abstracts in society meetings. As a member of the executive subcommittee of the International Society of Refractive Surgery International Council, Dr. Rocha is active in teaching at national and international conferences. She has served as a course instructor at the Amercian Academy of Ophthalmology Laser Refractive Skills Transfer Course since 2009 and teaches coures on Corneal Collagen Crosslinking, Optics, Presbyopia and Corneal Topography. Dr. Rocha is an Associate Editor for the Journal of Refractive Surgery (JRS) and the Brazilian Archives of Ophthalmology (ABO).