2014 Presidential Recognition Award: Dr. Zoltan Nagy

Prof. Zoltan Z. Nagy has been working in ophthalmology since 1986. Currently he is the head of the Department of Ophthalmology at Semmelweis University, Budapest, Hungary, and serves as a dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences.

Dr. Nagy first started practicing refractive surgery in Hungary in 1992, performing refractive procedures including PRK, LASIK, epi-LASIK, LASEK, PTK, and femtoLASIK. He discovered the effect of harmful ultraviolet-B during corneal avascular wound healing, which was published in Ophthalmology in 1997. Dr. Nagy was the first person in the world to perform femtolaser-assisted cataract surgery, in 2008.

In 2010 Dr. Nagy received the Waring Medal for the best publication in Journal of Refractive Surgery. In 2012 he received the Casebeer Award from the International Society of Refractive Surgery (ISRS) in recognition for his pioneering role and scientific contribution in femtolaser-assisted cataract surgery. He is an invited speaker in many European and international congresses. He is a board member of the International Society of Refractive Surgeons (ISRS) and a co-opted member of the ESCRS Board (European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons). Currently Dr. Nagy serves as a president of the Hungarian Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (SHIOL), and in 2012 he received an invitation to the editorial board of the Journal of Cataract and Refractive Surgery and also to the Journal of Refractive Surgery.