2012 Presidential Recognition Award: Dr. David F. Chang

A summa cum laude graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School, David F. Chang, MD, completed his residency at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF), where he is now a clinical professor. He previously chaired the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) Cataract Clinical Committee and is the current ASCRS president.

Dr. Chang is also chairman of the American Academy of Ophthalmology’s Cataract Preferred Practice Pattern Committee, immediate past chair of the Academy’s Practicing Ophthalmologist Curriculum Panel for Cataract/Anterior Segment, and in 2009 completed his five-year term as chair of the Academy’s Annual Meeting program committee.

He is a board member of the ASCRS Foundation and serves on the medical advisory board of Himalayan Cataract Project and Project Vision. Dr. Chang is the chief medical editor of EyeWorld, associate international editor for the Asia-Pacific Journal of Ophthalmology, and served for five years as co-chief medical editor for Cataract and Refractive Surgery Today.

Dr. Chang has received the highest honors for cataract surgery from: the ASCRS (the Binkhorst Medal), the Academy (the Kelman Lecture), the Asia Pacific Association of Cataract & Refractive Surgery (the Lim Medal), the United Kingdom and Ireland Society of Cataract & Refractive Surgery (the Rayner Medal), the Canadian Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (the Stein Lecture and Award), the Indian Intraocular Implant & Refractive Society (the Gold Medal), the Italian Ophthalmological Society (the Strampelli Medal) and the Royal Australia and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (the Gregg Medal).

In 2006, he became only the third ophthalmologist to ever receive the Charlotte Baer Award, honoring the outstanding clinical faculty member at the UCSF Medical School. Dr. Chang is also a five-time recipient of the Academy’s Secretariat Award.